[DNS] [SPAM] A spot of phishing ..

[DNS] [SPAM] A spot of phishing ..

From: Brenden Cruikshank <brenden.cruikshank§spiritconnect.com.au>
Date: Sun, 26 Oct 2008 16:15:30 +1000
So how did stgeorgewestpac.com.au get past NetRegistry should be the real question? 

Surely they would have atleast followed up on the domain before approving it?

-----Original Message-----
From: dns-bounces+brenden.cruikshank=spiritconnect.com.au&#167;dotau.org [mailto:dns-bounces+brenden.cruikshank=spiritconnect.com.au§dotau.org] On Behalf Of Ian Smith
Sent: Sunday, 26 October 2008 3:49 PM
To: .au DNS Discussion List
Subject: Re: [DNS] [SPAM] A spot of phishing ..

On Sun, 26 Oct 2008, Jon Lawrence wrote:

 > If Westpac haven't noticed that registration in five months then 
 > they're either incompetent or they're paying someone that's 
 > incompetent.

How, precisely, could they 'notice'?  By trawling whois, like slammers?

 > I don't think that's a valid reason go keep/change/discuss the rules 
 > relating to .com.au.

So registrars no longer have ANY responsibility to verify registrants, 
under their licence to print money?

 > TM-law-wise, if neither Westpac nor St George protect their 
 > Trademarks, they will eventually lose the protection (precisely why 
 > Google will not let you make their brand into a verb).

Heh .. google 'googling' .. you're unlikely to get 'caught' :)

 > Otherwise, that's the best argument I've heard, so far, for a .bank.au space. 

Yawn, Ian
List policy, unsubscribing and archives => http://dotau.org/
Received on Sat Oct 25 2008 - 23:15:30 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Sat Sep 09 2017 - 22:00:09 UTC